Holidays   Shabbat   Chabad-houses   Chassidism   Subscribe   Calendar   Links B"H

High-Holidays   |   Chanukah   |   Purim   |   Passover   |   Shavuot

Calendar   |   The Month of Elul   |   Rosh Hashanah   |   Days of Awe   |   Yom Kippur   |   Sukkot   |   Tishrei-Guide Map

What is Sukkot?



Four Kinds


Thoughts & Essays

Q & A

Intermediate Days

Hoshana Rabba

Simchat Torah

 Observances Stories

The Four Kinds

Another special mitzvah of Sukkot is the shaking together of the "Four Species" -- the etrog (citron), lulav (palm branch), three hadassim (myrtle branches), and two arovot (willow branches).

Each day of Sukkot (except the Sabbath), we shake the "four kinds" during the daytime.

Hold the lulav, hadassim, and arovot in the right hand, with the lulav's "spine' "facing you.

Say the appropriate blessing(s), then take the etrog in the left hand with the point, or "pitom," up, bring it together with the other three kinds, and shake it.

One explanation, among many, is that each of the four kinds represents a different type of Jew.

The fact that the mitzvah requires all four kinds symbolizes our oneness as a people: we all need one another. And the four species are waved in all four directions, and up and down, signifying that G-d is everywhere.

 Observances Stories

  • Daily Lessons
  • Weekly Texts & Audio
  • Candle-Lighting times

    613 Commandments
  • 248 Positive
  • 365 Negative

  • iPhone
  • Java Phones
  • BlackBerry
  • Moshiach
  • Resurrection
  • For children - part 1
  • For children - part 2

  • Jewish Women
  • Holiday guides
  • About Holidays
  • The Hebrew Alphabet
  • Hebrew/English Calendar
  • Glossary

  • by SIE
  • About
  • Chabad
  • The Baal Shem Tov
  • The Alter Rebbe
  • The Rebbe Maharash
  • The Previous Rebbe
  • The Rebbe
  • Mitzvah Campaign

    Children's Corner
  • Rabbi Riddle
  • Rebbetzin Riddle
  • Tzivos Hashem

  • © Copyright 1988-2009
    All Rights Reserved